Be careful what you wish for


They say be careful what you wish for. I clipped this panel from a Brenda Starr comic over a decade ago, when I was a newspaperman.
Now after a couple of months on the assignment desk at KSHB-TV, NBC Action News, I’m still excited to be working in television, with lots of great, new colleagues. But the pace is fast, and I am starting to see how it takes it out of you, for lack of a better term.
Don’t get me wrong. This is no “Monkey’s Paw.” But for instance, I can no longer blithely ignore the mayhem in the inner city. Then there’s the stuff that doesn’t make the news, like the guy who called to tell me about the dog across the street, neglected and freezing. That has weighed on my psyche, to one degree or another, for days now.
For comic relief, I took a call today from a woman who said she was in the Texas School Book Depository with Lee Harvey Oswald and Jack Ruby.
Then, too, there is satisfaction in having played a role in connecting the mother of a gravely wounded Marine from KC with a local foundation that gave her some much-needed financial assistance.
Bottom line, it’s pretty great to be associated with such a powerful journalistic entity as a television station.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Be careful what you wish for

  1. Thx. I couldn’t remember Chain of Hope’s name at that moment. I think I will next time. I just went to their website and saw that KSHB’s Curtis Jay and Jiao Jiao Shen are supporters. Just one more reason I like the station — we seem to do our share for needy pets!

  2. Leslie Scott

    Next time someone calls about a neglected dog, contact Chain of Hope. They’ll take care of it for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

